jump to navigation

Fox Busted Trying to Call Mark Foley a Democrat October 4, 2006

Posted by Unreasonable in Truth.
trackback

Since the Foley thing is embarrassing Republicans, Fox “News” made him a Democrat. That’s a neat idea. I would have never thought of it.

Foley

Ze Frank covered it in “The Show”

It just occurred to me that someone may get the mistaken impression that I care about the Foley stuff. I don’t. What upsets me is:

  1. We are stupid enough to be manipulated like this. I say we, but I’m not really included. I vote based on the price of gas. 😉
  2. Fox lied. Three times. On their highest rated show. After The Brad Blog called them on it, they quietly removed the lie from the replay without acknowledging that they had done it. It does not appear to be an accident. It appears to be well thought out manipulation of the republican base who watch Fox. It disgusts me, but not more than other political wrangling.

In the movie Parenthood, Tod says “You know, Mrs. Buckman, you need a license to buy a dog, to drive a car – hell, you even need a license to catch a fish. But they’ll let any butt-reaming asshole be a father.” I agree with that wholeheartedly (no offense Dad) and I think it goes for voting, too.

Learning and thinking should be prerequisites for voting. To qualify to vote, maybe we should have to pass a test. The questions should be about indisputable facts pertaining to basic government functions and candidate’s positions are about non-sensational items. The test needs to be open-source so it has a chance of being fair. It could be written similar to wiki articles so that we can arrive at fair questions.
The test should be hard enough to make people study before they take it. We ought to have to do a little research and learn something.

I know it wouldn’t really work. Karl Rove would have a field day with my idea. Charles Wheelan explains why here. There’s too many people willing to do anything for the sake of having power, and there’s too many cheaters. Its just too complicated. Maybe it should just be a single question test: “Do you regularly watch Fox news?”

Comments

1. Vote or Don’t Vote? « An Unreasonable Man - November 2, 2006

[…] That’s what I was talking about… sort of. It’s a start, anyway. It counts against you if you don’t know who Paris Hilton is. I think you should get bonus points for that. […]

2. Karl Rove Profile in Vanity Fair « An Unreasonable Man - November 4, 2006

[…] I’m offended by people who are attempting to polarize our country for their own gain. That includes Rove, Fox News, and Tony Fratto. It’s not a coincidence that they are all republican. Divide and conquer is the current republican strategy. […]

3. Think or Thwim » Karl Rove Profile in Vanity Fair - January 13, 2007

[…] by people who are attempting to polarize our country for their own gain. That includes Rove, Fox News, and Tony Fratto. Image is a fake originally posted to […]


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

